Week 12 – Military Veterans Dustin & Kara

It is great to see how this country has stepped-up the recognition of, and appreciation for, our active military and military veterans.

Today is Veterans Day 2012 and I want to honor America and show support for our military by providing this week’s gift to a veteran.

With assistance from Jen at the newly established MaVUSO office at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, we were able to get the word out to veterans that I was interested in giving away my tickets for UNO’s hockey game on November 11th.   My hockey tickets were my ticket to meet a couple of veterans and thank them for their service to this country.

Dustin was first to respond to the offer for the hockey tickets. Dustin came up to my office to pick up the tickets (& $50) and we spent a few minutes together. Dustin is from Randolph, Iowa and is a freshman at UNO majoring in Broadcasting.  He recently ended a five year career in the Marine Corps where he served as a MUCTSOR (Multi-channel Transmission Systems Operator) in Okinawa for about 15 months and the rest of his service as a Marine Security Guard at embassies in El Salvador, Finland, Africa, Latvia and Nigeria.

Kara was second to respond to the ticket offer, and I was able to get 2 additional tickets from friends of ours who sit next to us at the arena (thanks Mark and Mary!).  I met Kara at a Starbucks to drop off the tickets (& $50) to her.

I only spent a minute with Kara, but did find out that she is retired from the U.S. Air Force and was stationed at Offutt Air Force Base in Bellevue, Nebraska.  As a 97th Intelligence Squadron airborne cryptologic linguist, Kara was responsible for using signals equipment to detect and identify enemy communications.

The mission of UNO’s Military and Veteran University Services Office (MaVUSO), is to act as a one-stop office and advocate for military, veterans, and their dependents. This office is committed to providing high quality, comprehensive student support services and student programming that ensure successful recruitment, transition, academic progress, and graduation at UNO.

Last week we dedicated the opening of the MavUSO office and former U.S. Senator and military veteran Chuck Hagel spent time on campus in helping us launch this very important office.

UNO is recognized as one of the top 10 military friendly colleges and universities in the U.S. The MaVUSO office is another tangible piece of our commitment to supporting those who serve our country. I’m proud to work at UNO, especially because of things like MaVUSO!

To Dustin, Kara and all veterans….THANK YOU for your service! 

2 thoughts on “Week 12 – Military Veterans Dustin & Kara

  1. What an awesome Idea!. I’ll be 50 on December 12th 2012. 12-12-12. I already have an event scheduled for that day, but I am now thinking that I may want to also join you or emulate you and this 50×52. I may have to do it as a 50×50 to go with my other project. Check out my 50th birthday plans at my website.

Leave a Reply

