Week 50 – Gary

We largely ignore the homeless. We pass by them and seldom acknowledge their existence.

And by “we”, I really mean “me”.

On Friday I was downtown for a luncheon and heading back to campus and noticed what looked to be a homeless guy on the sidewalk. I pulled my car over and had a chat with him.

Gary, who is 59 years old, was born in Omaha but mostly raised in Council Bluffs. He lived in Florida for many years and worked as a supervisor for 22 years at a furniture manufacturer until they went out of business.

Gary1Gary has never been married and says he has no interest in being married, but did live with the same woman for 15 years for a stretch while in Florida. He came back to Omaha about seven years ago because of the loss of his job and this is where he has lots of family…his mom, sister, and nieces.

Gary is now homeless and calls the Francis House his home.

At first when I approached Gary on the street, he was defensive and unsure of why I was talking to him. My guess is that homeless people aren’t approached often by people in suits who want to say hello and shake their hand. But we got past the initial uncertainty and I told Gary of my Giving50x52 and that I wanted him to be week 50 and his eyes lit up and got very big. He said, “SURE”!

Gary thought what I was doing with the Giving50x52 was a little strange (ok, a lot strange). He couldn’t understand why I was doing it or why anyone would do it. Maybe my reason is the smile it put on his face and the brief moment of excitement it gave him. In just a few minutes, I saw Gary’s mood change dramatically.

We had a good conversation. Gary told me of one of his favorite times of going to Busch Gardens in Florida. As I left, I asked him what he might use the $50 for and he said to get something to eat and to get some cigarettes.

I’m glad I didn’t ignore Gary on Friday and had the chance to meet him.

2 thoughts on “Week 50 – Gary

  1. “Never lose sight of the fact that the most important yardstick of your success will be how you treat other people – your family, friends, and coworkers, and even strangers you meet along the way.”

    ~ Barbara Bush

  2. Gary will be talking about this for weeks (if not longer). A little hope and kindness go a long way. Love this story!

Leave a Reply

